New Transboundary Newsletter Launched

Welcome to the first edition of the IAH Transboundary Aquifers Commission (TBA Commission) Newsletter!

The vision of the IAH-TBA Commission has three specific objectives: (A) Support the management of transboundary aquifers aimed at improving shared sustainable use of groundwater resources that cross two or
more jurisdictional borders. (B) Provide advanced scientific, social, policy and legal recommendations to UN Agencies, international and national organizations and governments worldwide. (C) Increase the generation and exchange of knowledge regarding transboundary aquifers, creating channels of communication and cooperation.

The mission of this renewed IAH-TBA Commission is to build on the work of the previous IAH Commission on Transboundary Aquifers to further promote the complete scientific assessments of transboundary aquifers, and develop shared governance and science-based management of aquifers that traverse political boundaries. In addition to addressing international transboundary aquifers, the IAH-TBA Commission will expand its focus to consider governance and management mechanisms for intra-national transboundary aquifers.

National Chairperson: Mr Fanus Fourie
Vice-Chairperson: Ms Nicolette Vermaak
National Treasurer: Mr Yazeed van Wyk
National Secretariat: Dr Jaco Nel
National Coordinator: Ms Elanda Schaffner

Please contact this Committee via [email protected]

Copyright © 2018 Ground Water Division of Geological Society of South Africa. All Rights Reserved. Website Design by Digital Takeover.
twitterfacebookenvelopelinkedin linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram