South Africa Groundwater Lifetime Achievement Awards (GWD Medal)

The Division, through nominations by the Executive Committee, honour individuals or organisations for outstanding service in the field of ground water. These nominated honorary members receive Lifetime Achievement Awards (at the GWD Biennial Groundwater Conferences) for meritorious and outstanding service and dedication to furthering the science and technology of groundwater.


Water Research Commission (2019)
Mr Willem du Toit (2019)
Dr Shafick Adams (2017)
Mrs Isa Thompson (2017)
Mr Siep Talma (2015)
Mr Phil Hobbs (2015)
Mr Ernst Bertram (2011)
Dr Johan van der Merwe (2011)
Prof. Gerrit van Tonder (2009)
Prof. Jopie Botha (2007)
Prof. Eberhard Braune (2005)

Recipients in the 90’s:
Mr A R Reynders; Dr G Tredoux; Prof B Th Verhagen; Dr K L Morton, Dr T S Kok (In memory of)

Recipients in the 80’s:
Mr J R Vegter (In memory of); Prof F D I Hodgson, Dr J F Enslin

National Chairperson: Mr Fanus Fourie
Vice-Chairperson: Ms Nicolette Vermaak
National Treasurer: Mr Yazeed van Wyk
National Secretariat: Dr Jaco Nel
National Coordinator: Ms Elanda Schaffner

Please contact this Committee via [email protected]

Copyright © 2018 Ground Water Division of Geological Society of South Africa. All Rights Reserved. Website Design by Digital Takeover.
twitterfacebookenvelopelinkedin linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram