About GWD

The Ground Water Division was established in 1978. Essentially a non-profit association, it is committed to upholding and promoting professionalism in the field of groundwater among its membership. It is a body of scientists and technicians with direct or indirect involvement or interest in the optimal development of the country’s groundwater as a limited natural resource, and in the preservation of its quality. Environmental consciousness is strongly supported.

The Ground Water Division mainly focuses on Networking; Knowledge transfer and Capacity and Awareness building through a number of initiatives such as:

  • CPD Events (Conferences, Seminars, Courses)
  • Communication events (Talks) and media relations
  • Publications (Newsletters / Articles )
  • Sponsorships

The Division strives to address issues of actual, collective importance and thus not only to become a true forum but also a national speaker for groundwater.

Link to GWD Constitution

National Chairperson: Mr Fanus Fourie
Vice-Chairperson: Ms Nicolette Vermaak
National Treasurer: Mr Yazeed van Wyk
National Secretariat: Dr Jaco Nel
National Coordinator: Ms Elanda Schaffner

Please contact this Committee via [email protected]

Copyright © 2018 Ground Water Division of Geological Society of South Africa. All Rights Reserved. Website Design by Digital Takeover.
twitterfacebookenvelopelinkedin linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram