13th Biennial Groundwater Division Conference and Exhibition (GWD)

Event Date: 
17 Sep 08:00 - 19 Sep 16:00
Event Description: 

Southern Sun Elangeni | 63 Snell Parade | Durban | 4001



Dear Friends and Colleagues

On behalf of the Groundwater Division of the Geological Society of South Africa it was a great pleasure to have welcomed you to the 13th Groundwater Division Conference in Durban.

It was again a great honour to organise this conference. I firmly believe that this meeting provided an opportunity to advance communication between academics, researchers, the public service and industry and to find innovative solutions to our groundwater and related challenges. The role of groundwater and that of the groundwater fraternity is likely to increase and the groundwater community should be prepared to engage society on the efficient management of this finite resource to ensure social, economic and environmental security.

Support for the conference has been great in this challenging financial time. We wish to thank all our sponsors and exhibitors for their contributions. Organising this conference is largely a volunteer effort. I wish to thank all the volunteers and their respective institutions for the hours they offered to bring us the 13th edition of this conference.

Thank you for attending and hope you enjoyed getting involved in the debates!

Dr Shafick Adams
Conference Chairperson



The best oral presenter: Mr Stephen McKeown
Best oral student presenter: Mr Jannie Weitz
Best poster: Mr Kobus Prinsloo


The 2013 Conference Organising Committee:

Dr Shafick Adams (Conference Chair): Water Research Commission
Dr Kornelius Riemann: Umvoto Africa
Dr Jaco Nel: GCS (Pretoria)
Mr Matthys Dippenaar: University of Pretoria
Prof Ingrid Dennis: University of the North-West
Co-Opted: Dr Francois Fourie: University of the Free State , IGS
Mr Fanus Fourie: Department of Water Affairs
Dr Kevin Pietersen: SLR Consulting (Exhibition)
Mr Fortress Netili (Treasurer): Council for Geoscience
Mrs Adaora Okonkwo: Department of Water Affairs
Co-Opted: Mr Kwazikwakhe Majola: Department of Water Affairs
Mr Jude Cobbing: SLR Consulting
Mr Pieter Labuschagne: GCS (Durban)
Dr Molla Demlie: University of Kwazulu-Natal
Mr Jannie Weitz: University of Kwazulu-Natal
Ms Nelda Breedt: University of Pretoria (GWD Student Chapter)
Co-Opted: Mr Shuaib Dustay: University of the Western Cape
Mrs Elanda Botes: GWD Conference Liaison Office

The 2013 Conference Authors/Presenters & Sponsors:

The organizers would like to express their gratitude to the authors who have written and presented papers and to thank the agencies and organizations that have supported or funded their attendance at this conference. Furthermore, special thanks are due to the conference sponsors:

Department of Water Affairs | Water Research Commission
GCS Pty Ltd | SRK Consulting | Jones & Wagener
Farmer's Weekly

The following companies are also acknowledged for their sponsorship of students:

GEOSS | ESKOM | GWD CENTRAL | GCS and our Honorary member: Dr G Tredoux

The following service providers are also acknowledged and thanked for their professional support:

ClearCreative Graphic Design Studio, Pretoria
Corporate Styling, Johannesburg
Grafika Africa, Pretoria
Harvey World Travel, Durban
Ivor Hamilton Photography, Durban
MinutePrint, Pretoria
Nosh Catering, Durban
Pointblank Solutions, Durban
Oasys Innovations, Durban
Readira Printers, Pretoria
Tsogo Sun, Elangeni Hotel and Conference Centre
Wow Signs & Designs, Pretoria


The organizers would like to thank the agencies and organizations that have exhibited at this Conference. They have contributed so much to the overall Conference, not only by enhancing the platform for networking but also by offering a renewed focus on professionalism in the industry.  

Department of Water Affairs
Digby Wells Environmental

EDRS (Drilling & Remediation Services)

Geoquip/LAVAL/Midlands Pumps

UIS Analytical

SRK Consulting (Pty) Ltd

Water Research Commission

Microsep (pty) Ltd

Hach South Africa


RSA Electronics
niall [dot] kramer [at] shell [dot] com (Karoo Groundwater Expert Group)

GCS (pty) Ltd

Council for Geoscience


Talbot & Talbot

Leapfrog Hydro

View the photo's of the Conference Exhibitors in action!

GWConference Feedback Form_Oct2013.pdf144.28 KB
Conference Programme Handbook 2013.pdf4.03 MB