Executive Commitee

              "Ms Nancy Motebe retired from the Committee, due to pressing responsibilities, in June 2012 after a two-year term and will not be eligible for nomination for a second consecutive term. Nancy, during her tenure as Vice-Chair in the Division, has made significant contributions not only by her on-going efforts to strengthen the groundwater profile in the Department Water Affairs, her involvement as speaker and trainer at the Division’s courses and workshops, but also through her initiatives as part of the Conference Coordination Committee for the GWD‐IAH International Groundwater Conference, September 2011."

As a great lady and colleague in a male dominated field of practice, it was always refreshing to have you in attendance. We will have to see you one more time for your jacket/GWD shirt, a thank you is in order, indeed. GWD Secretariat

Thank you Nancy! You will surely and sorely be missed. EXCO2012

The Executive Committee of the Division consists of a Chairman, a Vice Chairman, a Secretary, a Treasurer and two (2) additional members. The Chairman of the Executive Committee or an alternate member of the Committee represents the Division on the Council of the Geological Society of South Africa.

The duties of the Executive Committee are to manage the affairs of the Division in the interest of the Members of the Division and in accordance with its own Constitution and Rules and the Constitution and Bylaws of the Geological Society of South Africa.

The term of office is two (2) years.

The elected Executive Committee for 2010 /2011 were:

  • Dr Shafick Adams (Water Research Commission) - Chairman National Branch
  • Ms Nancy Motebe (Department Water Affairs) – Vice Chair - National Branch
  • Mr Fortress Netili (Council for Geoscience) - Treasurer - National Branch
  • Mr Matthys Dippenaar (University of Pretoria) - Co-opted Exco National Branch
  • Dr Kornelius Riemann (Umvoto Africa) - Chairman Western Cape Branch
  • Mr Gert Nel (SRK Consulting) - Chairman Eastern Cape Branch
  • Mr Gawie van Dyk (Anglo Gold Ashanti) - Chairman Central Branch
  • Ms Elanda Botes -  National Secretariat (appointed)

The elected Executive Committee for 2008 /2009 were:

  • Dr Rian Titus (Water Geosciences Consultants) - Chairman National Branch
  • Dr Kevin Pietersen (Water Geosciences Consultants) – Vice Chairman - National Branch
  • Mr Chris Moseki (Water Research Commission) - Honorary Secretary – National Branch
  • Mr Ryan Ellington (Knight Piesold) Treasurer and website – National Branch
  • Mr Gawie van Dyk – Central Branch Chair
  • Mr Hanco Roux – Eastern Cape Branch Chair 
  • Mr Jaco Nel – Western Cape Branch Chair
  • Ms Elanda Botes -  National Secretariat (appointed)

History : Executive Committees of the Ground Water Division of the GSSA
1978 - 2004